Last Updated on
Texas is a great hunting state with many opportunities for beginners and experienced hunters. However, like any other state in America, you need a license to participate in the sport legally, and many people want to know the cost of a Texas hunting license. The short answer is it will cost about $25, but that can vary considerably based on several factors, so keep reading as we take a closer look at the different licenses that you can get, along with the cost and requirements.
Anyone can get a hunting license in Texas as long as they are at least 8 years old and pass the state hunter education training course. The training course helps ensure that each hunter knows how to handle a firearm or crossbow and is skilled in the proper safety techniques. You must know the laws, understand the principles of wildlife management and identification, and understand your responsibility toward wildlife, the environment, and the general public. While you can take the course early as 8 years old, you can’t hunt until you are 12.
The resident hunting license is the standard license in Texas, and that is what most people will get. It’s for people older than 17 who have lived in the state for at least 6 months. You will also choose a resident license if you are between the ages of 12 and 17 but don’t live in the state or if you are currently on active duty in the military. You can expect to spend $25 on a resident hunting license
The youth hunting license is for children between 12 and 17. You can expect to spend $7 on a youth hunting license.
A non-resident hunting license is for people who are 18 years old or older and who don’t live in Texas. Non-resident Texas hunting licenses are the most expensive and will cost $305. To avoid this fee, you must live in the state for at least 6 months.
The senior hunting license is for Texas residents more than 65 years old. The license comes at a reduced cost because the older generation typically doesn’t spend as much time in the field. You can expect to spend $7 on your Texas hunting license if you are a senior.
You can hunt a large selection of animals in Texas, many of which are hard to find in other states. Animals that you can hunt include the following
Hunting without a license is against the law, and while it’s unlikely that you will face any jail time if it’s your first offense, you will probably have to pay a fine. The current fine for hunting without a license for a Texas resident is $165, which is $140 more than the cost of a license. If you are a non-resident, you will need to pay $465, which is $160 more than the cost of a license, so it’s better to keep on the right side of the law.
You will likely need to pay $25 for a hunting license in Texas if you are a resident. If you are from out of state and are looking to hunt one of the many interesting animals in Texas, you will need to pay $305 for your license, or you will need to spend at least 6 months in the state for them to consider you a resident. Senior residents of the state and children between the ages of 12 and 17 can purchase a license for $7.
Featured Image Credit: Volodymyr TVERDOKHLIB, Shutterstock
Ed Malaker is a veteran writer who contributes to a wide range of blogs covering information on computer programming, pets, birding, tools, fitness, guitars, and optics. Outside of writing, Ed is often found working in the garden or performing DIY projects in the house. Ed is also a musician, spending his time composing music for independent films or helping people repair their guitars.
What Is the Best Binocular Magnification for Hunting? Optical Features Explained
10 Types of Hummingbirds in Arkansas (With Pictures)
8 Types of Hummingbirds in Nebraska (With Pictures)
5 Types of Hummingbirds in Idaho (With Pictures)
3 Types of Hummingbirds in Mississippi (With Pictures)
8 Types of Hummingbirds in Kansas (With Pictures)
5 Types of Hummingbirds in West Virginia (With Pictures)
5 Types of Hummingbirds in Ohio (With Pictures)